BOOK REVIEW ! THE MURDER ON THE LINKS – BY AGATHA CHRISTIE (Part of Hercule Poirot Series)

banner

I’d like to think that If I was as gifted as Hercule Poirot I’d work my ass off for the good of the world, but then if I was Poirot and had a friend like Hastings , I’d probably become the best villain the world has ever seen and would have had killed Hastings after spending one day with him.

Basically , what I am trying to say is ‘Hastings sucks !’

Book Succinct:

Author : Agatha Christie / Series : Hercule Poirot / Genre : Mystery , Detective / Pages : 232

A millionaire dies…

‘One can see by his face that he was stabbed in the back’ said Poirot.

But the strangest feature of the case was where they found the body – in an open grave!

Hercule Poirot had answered an appeal for help – but he was too late!

MURDER – bizarre and baffling – had come to the Villa Genevieve.

check the book at : Goodreads

What I liked :

rate

This was a very cheap purchase , available for just 100 bucks I got a discount and was able to buy this book from amazon for just 50 bucks and Ok , this may not be a pro for an actual book review , but hey cheap books are always a good thing in my world.

Secondly , compared to the first book (Review here) this book managed to show us more of Poirot’s character , his arrogance , his compulsions and obsessions , his wit , and most importantly his method .

The mystery itself was set up very nicely and there were some fascinating twists added to keep the readers off the trail . Meanwhile for the era it was written in , the story was very innovative . The pace of the whole story was also very good and no details were skipped for the need of fast pace and in fact I personally felt this book was written better than the first one.

The introduction of Chief Inspector Giraud was also wonderful addition as in him we saw both a competitor and an pompous hurdle for Poirot and it was truly fun to see the two work in their contrasting methods .

What I didn’t like:

pnc

Let’s start by mentioning that fool Hastings , I disliked his character in the first book , but now , I truly hate him . I have read horrible villains and treacherous characters in books before , but Hastings ability to annoy me has surpassed them all and if I was given the ability to kill one character and one character only , it’d be Hastings . JUST SOD OFF HASTINGS !

Yet again the book faced the same problems in terms of story as the previous book , the book failed to surprise me as by the time I reached 25% of the book I had figured out most of the mystery but still there were surprises and yet the final conclusion felt overly dramatic and a bit too dragged .


Conclusions :

Conclusion-up

A very decent book , mystery hungry book nerds will devour it , enjoy it . The ending is not really up to everyone’s taste , some will like it , some won’t , I personally stand in the latter category and yet I will recommend this to anyone looking for a light read.


Reviews of Books in the same series:

BOOK REVIEW: The Mysterious Affair At Styles , By Agatha Christie ( Hercule Poirot #1)

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW ! THE MURDER ON THE LINKS – BY AGATHA CHRISTIE (Part of Hercule Poirot Series)

Leave a comment