BOOK REVIEW!! Dark Matter , by Blake Crouch .

banner

I have a rule to always try a different genre book right after having read a fantasy book , So soon after finishing The Dark Tower , I got my hands on this book and having heard so many good things about this book , I was truly drowned in the tides of hype of this book and started reading this with a lot of anticipation and a bit of doubt …

Book Quotes:

“Until everything topples, we have no idea what we actually have, how precariously and perfectly it all hangs together.”
Blake Crouch, Dark Matter

Book Succinct:

Author : Blake Crouch / Pages - 342 / Genres: Science-fiction, Fiction, Mystery , thriller

“Are you happy with your life?”

Those are the last words Jason Dessen hears before the masked abductor knocks him unconscious.

Before he awakens to find himself strapped to a gurney, surrounded by strangers in hazmat suits.

Before a man Jason’s never met smiles down at him and says, “Welcome back, my friend.”

Learn more about this book at : Goodreads & Amazon

Now , to let you know , the actual book succinct is longer than what I’ve written above , but I suggest you don’t read the succinct as I feel the succinct gave a lot of the story away and had I gone to read this book having known as little as possible , maybe this would have turned out to be an even better experience .


What I Liked :

Rating

The first thing to strike me was the plot on display in this book. This plot was very new to me and it was exciting as hell as the it depicted a fantastic concept , created a mystery , gathered a quick pace and kept going at it and never slowing down for a second .The author clearly spent a lot of time on this book as the attention to details in the story was just fascinating , I even conferred with one of my physics-know-it-all friend and he was absolutely approving of the concepts in the book.

The author’s writing style really drew me in on the moments of the books and each event be it tragic or exciting truly made me feel the desired emotions .In fact despite being somewhat apathetic to the whole concept of Romance, I was actually touched by the moment when Jason’s romantic turmoils were displayed in the written words and I could actually relate to his pains and frustration.

Book Quotes:

“We’re more than the sum total of our choices, that all the paths we might have taken factor somehow into the math of our identity.”
Blake Crouch, Dark Matter

The mystery aspect of the story is mixed with countless twists and turns that managed to keep me awake for a whole night as I went from 50% to 100% without a pitstop , as I just couldn’t keep the book down at times and simply kept flipping the pages to know what happened next .

There were times where I felt that the events in the plot were something I had seen in certain medias but than Chapter 13 happened and it absolutely blew me away . The thrills , the action , the emotions all that followed went by in a blur that truly entertained the hell out of me .


What I Didn’t Like :

pnc

As I wrote earlier despite all the charm of the book , having read the succinct took away some of the surprise factor of the book and moments that should have shook me came as little surprise early on in the series*.

*although later on there still arose moments that shook me with surprise as if I was a leaf in a storm , its just the initial few surprises that lost their impacts

The physics involved in the book also can be tough to follow at times , Maybe it was just my tiny ‘Programmed-to-mug-up’ brain but even the explainations to many crucial to plot physics theories made me dizzy and confused and I had to re-read them many times to get the concept into my thick skull.

Book Quotes:

“If you strip away all the trappings of personality and lifestyle, what are the core components that make me me?”
Blake Crouch, Dark Matter

There was also a moment and about 2 chapters were I truly grew tired and frustrated of Jason as a character and his choices , I actually felt like I wanted to somehow slap him ear-to-ear and just ask him to get moving , stop making the story stagnant and see the obvious solution to the problem in front of him.

The ending did feel a bit flat , I won’t call it anti-climatic but it did feel like it lacked the motivation , the event in the final pages happens and It just felt too easy . At same time the whole mystery of One characters fate was left uncertain and unexplained and left me dissapointed


Conclusions :

conclusions

 

Fast paced and eventful , Dark Matter was certainly one hell of a book and it just sucked me into the brilliant story telling that was relentless and delivered on many counts , if for nothing else just for the shear entertainment value and the fascinating concept at display I strongly recommend this book

Book Quotes:

“For anyone who has wondered what their life might look like at the end of the road not taken.”
Blake Crouch, Dark Matter


Check out some of my other reviews :


Have you read “Dark Matter”? Do you plan to ?

share your thoughts on the comments below

find me at Goodreads & twitter

7 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW!! Dark Matter , by Blake Crouch .

    1. Yep , I just saw the new TMNT cartoon show before writing this review and saw that Mikey didn’t use the term anymore , it made me sad ,so every thing I rate 8 from now on is Cowabunga !😁

      I think I can understand those who didn’t like it , but for me this was a unique book and the climax that came about was just Mind-f*ck of another level, I thoroughly enjoyed it ,I would be curious to see what you make of it though 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Your review is definitely encouraging! There was and is a ton of hype around the book and hype always makes me kind of… kick the can down the road….so I haven’t been in a hurry to pick the book up but some of the points you make are interesting and as soon as I have space in the review line, I shall pop it in there 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Will be awaiting to see what You make of it , Most of the bad reviews have issue with some moral issues and the plot not being new , Personally I had never read anything like this in terms of plot so It was really entertaining , but to each his own 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

