Top 5 Wednesday #8 – Books That Took You the Longest to Finish

Untitled-1

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme from Goodreads, created by Lainey from Gingerreadslainey and now moderated by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes.

This Weeks Topic:

October 5th: Books That Took You the Longest to Finish
–These are the books that you had on your nightstand “in progress” for months or years. The books that you took weeks to read because they put you in a slump. Those books that were an uphill battle. These are books you started and actually read, not books you’ve just had on your shelf the longest.

Let me start by saying I’m a fairly slow reader and i can list more than 10 books that have taken me quite a long time. While it’s certainly true that a book that doesn’t entertain me slows my reading pace much of my list consist of books that I actually like but for various reasons I didn’t manage to finish reading them as quickly as I wanted to .

My T5w :

  • 33Lord of the Rings (by J.R.R Tolkien): Lord of the rings is one of my favorite books , in Fact it’s the book that started my love for books which didn’t have Batman/superman etc or Hardy boys / Nancy Drew / Famous Five in it . The fact that before reading this book i was not much of a reader and most of my times were spent reading comic book and hardy boys novel and that too pretty slowly made this book a very slow read . I don’t remember how long it took me but i think it was more than 2 months for sure .
  • 55401Deadhouse Gates (Malazan book of fallen #2 by Steven Erikson) : Malazan book of fallen is one of my favorite books in the fantasy genre (haven’t read all of them yet though) but Malazan book of fallen are pretty thick when it comes to number of pages , this book consisted of 960 pages and it took me just over 1 month to finish it , granted i have read books thicker at a faster pace but on those occasions i had a lot of spare time this was not the case with Deadhouse gates , not to mention Steven Erikson’s work demands full undivided attention and a broad imagination that makes a slower reading pace more suitable to it .
  • 175983Memories of Ice (Malazan book of Fallen #3 by Steven Erikson) : Memories of Ice was the last book that i read of the 10 part long Malazan series and in my honest opinion this was by all means the best book of the series and yet the book was near 1100 pages in thickness and with similar reasoning as i have mentioned above this book took me near 2 month to finish and yet again i don’t regret it one bit , it was worth the slow pace .
  • 7664041Inheritance (Inheritance Cycle #4 by Christopher Paolini) : I Hate Paolini ! back when i had first started loving and reading Fantasy books Inheritance Cycle by Paolini was considered a bestseller , relatively new to the world of Fantasy and books i bought the full box set featuring the 4 books (It was on discount OK!) the result as i found out with the first book was a awfully written plagiarized version of Lord of the rings mixed with Star wars . But since I had invested good amount of money I had to finish it and the last book of this despicable series made me cringe and my reading pace suffered resulting into a very very slow pace that led to me finishing the book in near 2 months.
  • 13497A Feast for Crows (A song of Ice & Fire #4 by George.R.R.Martin) : A Song of Ice & Fire is one of the finest book in the Fantasy genre and I binged the whole book after finishing the first season of the TV series and the books barely lasted more than 10 days the 4th installment of the series however was a different thing . While the writing itself was top notch in terms of plot progression the book did absolutely nothing and instead focussed on events in Dorne which for large parts were very very dull to say the least which affected my reading pace and made it a whole month long read.

 

 

[all book cover images are click-able and will take the readers to the Goodreads page of the respective books ]

So that’s my T5W for this week ,

share your T5W in the comments section below

or simply comment 

follow me on Goodreads & twitter

18 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #8 – Books That Took You the Longest to Finish

      1. I can’t say I can recommend it haha. It’s not bad and the prose is excellent, but it’s so sloooow that it took me ages to finish it. The pace only picks up in the last part, and that’s when it gets interesting.

        Like

    1. i haven’t read that far, still at memories of ice , I plan to finish Dresden Files and Dark Tower series this year , once I’m done with those my next mission will be finishing Malazan books 🙂

      Like

  1. I’m glad to see I’m not the only one who takes ages to finish an 1100 paged book ;).
    A Feast for Crows was probably my least favourite part in the series as well. Although I remember A Dance with Dragons bored me to tears as well with the Daenerys bits…
    Remind me to skip Paolini ;).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. i remember finishing the two Kingkiller chronicles book very quickly , i think the 2nd book was 1200 pages long and i finished it in 10 days .

      however Malazan books are written in a very unique way and demand your full attention, if you don’t you may miss certain details or things can get confusing , that’s why whenever i decide on picking up the malazan book i make sure i have a clear mind before i start reading else i pick another book and don’t read malazan until my mind is clear

      Liked by 1 person

      1. REally?! The 2nd book took me MONTHS! :/ Not because it wasn’t good but…MONTHS!! I’m still anxious to read the Malazan series but thank for the warning of going in with a clear mind :3

        Liked by 1 person

      2. well that’s just my take on those books , ask Drew what he feels considering he has already finished the series, Maybe it’s just me who’s always getting distracted or something

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Lol ! No man she’s just a friend , she has a boyfriend , she had it when we first met . I’d like to use it as an excuse but that just won’t be right .

        so far that was her only recommendation that I have ever disliked

        and yes the big books are definitely my style now , I might as well sing in the tone of sir Mixalot “I like Big Books and i can not lie , You other brothers can not deny”

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Yeah, totally agree with you on GRRM and Tolkien. 😂 They give you so much history and backstory it’s crazy. I mean you feel like you’re in their world, but it can be a bit much at times when you’re like okay get on with it already. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

