Top 5 Wednesday #2 – 3rd August 2016 : Books You Feel Differently About

Untitled-1

Top 5 Wednesday or #T5W is a weekly meme created on Goodreads and you can find them here

The Rules and Guidelines regarding the Meme can be found on here

Now then , The Topic for this week is –

Books You Feel Differently About:

— Talk about the books that you feel differently about after you’ve had time to think about them or re-read them. These are books that you gave a low rating, and then thought about it or re-read it and ended up loving. Or a book that you loved when you first read it, but after you’ve thought about it or you’ve gotten older, you see how many problems it had. 

My T5w: In no particular order .

  • eragon_book_coverEragon and the whole Inheritance Cycle Series: Readers of my blog (the few of those that follow my blog) will have known my hatred of the book series , however it was not so at the start when I started reading the Eragon book I overlooked its familiarity with the Lord of The rings and it was after I finished reading the first book and thought about it for a while that I went to re-read the book and find not only the glaringly obvious similarities but also the irritable plot holes and stupidity and later the lack of a central plot in itself made me hate this book .

 

 

  • erikson_bGardens of Moon (Malazan Book of Fallen #1): During my First reading of the First Book in the Malazan Book of Fallen I was massively confused being a relatively young kid who had never read anything bigger than Lord of The Ring my impressionable mind took the book to be too complicated and considered it as a bad book resulting in a incomplete book amidst my beautiful book shelf . It took me nearly a decade to reconsider my decision and re-read this masterfully epic tale of Fantasy that I have fallen in love with and rate as the best Fantasy book I have ever read .

 

 

  • The Wise Man’s Fear (KingKiller Chronicles #2) : a45977492f18656b78f2a72405c7233cThis modern Day Epic Fantasy Genius by Patrick Rothfus was a Hype Storm and I fell right into it in the summer of 2014 and read both the book of the series in a binge and caught in the hype I thought that they were the most beautifully narrated books since Lord of The Rings . Having Re-read the book while I still keep the first book of the series in the highest of regards my love for this installment has lessened as I realized how dragged out the book felt and some of the plots direction felt fairly unnecessary at times, that said it still remains one of my favourite book series but the 2nd installment doesn’t appear as a masterpiece anymore.

 

  • Civil_War_Vol_1_1_Turner_VariantMarvel Comics – Civil War (2006): When I first read Civil war it was one of my favorite Marvel comics ever and it retained that title for a long while until recently when in view of the movie’s arrival I thought to give the book a re-read and I realized how awkward and abrupt the ending of the whole “War” came about . it felt like the whole clashing of heads happened for no reason whatsoever and I really felt dejected . That said it still remains one of the most finest comics I ever read but with the plot holes now apparent and the story losing it’s invulnerable charm it’s certainly not my favorite anymore

 

  • the-godfatherThe Godfather (Mario Puzo’s Mafia book series) : I am not a fan of Mafia books/movies and I never liked the Godfather movies either , yet when you proclaim such statements to your peers about one of their favorite Book/movie you are in for a earful so grudgingly I read the Godfather book a year ago after picking the book up once before many  years before and thrown it away (not literally of course) as a book not palatable to my own taste but to my surprise I kinda did enjoy the second read , it certainly doesn’t change my perception of Mafia books/Movies as I still dislike them but the writing style and detailed portrayal of the Mafia culture in the book definitely made me reconsider the book and I accepted that it deserved its place on the “Classic” hall of fame for books but again it’s still not for my taste

 

So here’s my pick for the week , what’s been your 5 books that you feel differently about . Lemme know via links to your blog post or via comments or via twitter or goodreads .

follow me on Twitter and Goodreads

Leave a Reply

